DATE EVENT MEETING PLACE & TIME CONTACT
May 2019
Wed 1 May Management Committee Meeting 6.30pm – 9.30pm
Garden Suburbs School
President – Robert Stewart
All members welcome
Fri 3th – Sun 5th May Tocal Field Days 9.00am – 5.00pm
each day Roster to be made (visitors welcome)
Alan Stuart 0409 978 171
Tue 7 May Mid-week Outing – Ellalong Lagoon Meet – 7.00 Outside Paxton Hotel (Millfield Rd, Paxton. Pre-register as numbers limited. Mick Roderick 0421 761 237
Wed 8th May Club Meeting 7.00pm The Wetlands Centre Speaker: Andrea Griffin-Myna/Miner research
Bird of the Evening: Archie Brennen – Pacific Gull
Fri 10th May Survey: Earthcare Park, Tenambit Meet -7.00am, main gate Leader Marg Clarke 0412 616030
Sat 11 –
Mon 13 May
(backup 24-26 May)
Broughton Island
bird banding
Nelson Bay NPWS TBA
Fit only, numbers very limited: contact Alan for waiting list
Greg Little 0414 562169
Alan Stuart 0409 978 171
Tue 14th May Tomago Wetlands Survey 7.30am Entry to Tomago House Ann Lindsey 4951 2008
Please ring to confirm
Sat 18th May Hunter Wader Survey HT-7.47am, 1.65m 7.00am Ash Island and Tomago
7.30am Various locations as directed
Alan Stuart 0409 978 171 – Ash Island
Dan Williams 0408 023 262 – Kooragang
Jack Adams 4971 5334 – Swansea
Jenny Powers 4944 7274 – Stockton
Sue Hamonet 4958 1023 – Swan Bay
Steven Cox 0409 848 390 – Tomago
Ann Lindsey 4951 2008 – Hexham
Sat 18th – Sun 19th May Regent Honeyeater/ Swift Parrot surveys Various locations as desired or directed Mick Roderick 0421 761237
mick.roderick@birdlife.org.au
Sun 19th May Field Outing –
Blackbutt Reserve
Meet – 7.30am Mahogany Drive carpark Joy Nicholls 0410 867 134
Mon 20th May 20yr anniversary of Wader Surveys 6.00-9.00pm Shortland Waters Golf Club – booking essential Marg Clarke –  secretary@hboc.org.au
Mon 27th May Remove woody weeds 7.00am Stockton Sandspit Tom Clarke  0418 411 785
June 2019
Tue 4th Jun Mid-Week Outing – Galgabba Meet – 7.45am. Marks St Swansea. Jack Adams 4971 5334
Wed 5th Jun Management Committee Meeting 6.30pm – 9.30pm
Garden Suburbs School
President – Robert Stewart
All members welcome
Sat 8th – Mon 10th Jun Long Weekend Camp – Baerami Meet – see directions in HBOC E-news and on the web site Lorna Mee 0499 015500
Wed 12th Jun Club Meeting 7.00pm The Wetlands Centre Speaker: Mick Todd – Regents Forever- Conserving Regent Parrots by linking the Murray to the Mallee
Bird of the Evening: TBA
Fri 14th Jun Survey: Earthcare Park, Tenambit Meet – 7.00am, main gate Leader Marg Clarke 0412 616030
Sat 15th Jun Hunter Wader Survey HT-6.39am, 1.51m 7.00am Ash Island and Tomago
7.00 am Various locations as directed
Alan Stuart 0409 978 171 – Ash Island
Dan Williams 0408 023 262 – Kooragang
Jack Adams 4971 5334 – Swansea
Jenny Powers 4944 7274 – Stockton
Sue Hamonet 4958 1023 – Swan Bay
Steven Cox 0409 848 390 – Tomago
Ann Lindsey 4951 2008 – Hexham
Sun 16h Jun Field Outing: New Members Day 9.30am Hunter Wetlands Centre, Shortland Lorna Mee 0499 015 500
Tue 18th Jun Tomago Wetlands Survey 7.30am Entry to Tomago House Ann Lindsey 4951 2008
Please ring to confirm
Mon 24th Jun Remove woody weeds 7.00am Stockton Sandspit Tom Clarke  0418 411 785
School holidays Sat 6th July to Sun 21nd July 2019
July 2019
Tue 2nd Jul Mid-week Outing –
Walka Water Works
Meet – 7.30 Walka Water Works Oakhampton Margaret Clarke 0412 616 030
Wed 3rd  Jul Management Committee Meeting 6.30pm – 9.30pm
Garden Suburbs School
President – Robert Stewart
All members welcome
Mon 8th Jul Remove woody weeds 7.00am Stockton Sandspit Tom Clarke  0418 411 785
Wed 10th Jul Club Meeting – Xmas in July Fundraiser 7.00pm The Wetlands Centre
please bring a plate to share
Speaker: Matt Herring – bitterns in rice
Bird of the Evening: Rod Warnock
Fri 12th Jul Survey: Earthcare Park, Tenambit Meet – 7.00am, main gate Leader Marg Clarke 0412 616030
Tue 16th Jul Tomago Wetlands Survey 7.30am Entry to Tomago House Ann Lindsey 4951 2008
Please ring to confirm
Fri 19th Jul Port Stephens Waterbirds Survey 8.30am Locations as directed Alan Stuart 0409 978 171
Essential to ring to confirm
Sat 20 Jul Hunter Wader Survey HT-10.39am, 1.39m 9.30am Ash Island and Tomago
10.0am Various locations as directed
Alan Stuart 0409 978 171 – Ash Island
Dan Williams 0408 023 262 – Kooragang
Jack Adams 4971 5334 – Swansea
Jenny Powers 4944 7274 – Stockton
Sue Hamonet 4958 1023 – Swan Bay
Steven Cox 0409 848 390 – Tomago
Ann Lindsey 4951 2008 – Hexham
Sun 21 Jul Field Outing –
Green Wattle Creek
Meet – 7.30 Seaham Wetlands cnr Seaham and East Seaham road.  Progressing to Green Wattle Creek, Butterwick Margaret Clarke 0412 616 030
Mon 22th Jul Remove woody weeds 7.00am Stockton Sandspit Tom Clarke  0418 411 785
Fri 26th
Sun 28 Jul
(b/up2-4 Aug)
Broughton Island
bird banding
Nelson Bay NPWS TBA
Fit only, numbers very limited: contact Alan for waiting list
Greg Little 0414 562169
Alan Stuart 0409 978 171
August 2019
Sat 3rd – Sun 4th Aug Swift Parrot & Regent Honeyeater Surveys Various locations as desired or directed Mick Roderick 0421 761237
mick.roderick@birdlife.org.au
Please contact for information